Tourists Will Soon Be Able to Visit Beijing Visa Free for 6 Days

By Justine Lopez, July 31, 2017

1 0

Travelers heading to Beijing, Tianjin and Hebei Province will soon be able to stay visa free for six whole days. The new visa regulation is expected to go into effect by the end of the year, China Daily reports.

Currently, visitors to Beijing and Tianjin are only allowed to stay for a maximum of 72 hours.

The vice-mayor of Beijing made the announcement on Thursday and explained that the new visa regulation applies to visitors and foreign investors who wish to visit the three areas. The 144-hour visa-free entry only applies to some nationals, however. At this point no specifics have been given.

Shanghai and neighboring Jiangsu and Zhejiang provinces implemented 144-hour visa-free entry to visitors in January 2016. The service is offered to passport holders from 53 countries. It's likely that the same countries will soon be able to visit Beijing, Tianjin and Hebei visa-free for six days.

Here is a list of countries currently able to travel to Shanghai visa free for six days:

Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Japan, Korea, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia (FYROM), Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal,  Qatar, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates,the United Kingdom, the United States.

more news

China's Youth Gamers Limited to 1 Hour Per Day

Online game providers must limit minors to one hour of gaming per day on weekends and holidays.

China Releases New Vaccine and Testing Regulations for Visa Applicants

Those who received Pfizer, Moderna, or Johnson & Johnson vaccines will also have to take nucleocapsid (N) protein tests.

6 Important China Visa Questions Answered

We spoke with the UK government in China.

Visa Rules Relaxed for Vaccinated Foreigners Entering from HK

Less health documents are needed for foreign visa applicants.

Getting a China-produced Vaccine May Help Your Visa Application

Visa rules for citizens of some countries will be eased on condition that applicants take China-produced vaccines.

0 User Comments

In Case You Missed It…

We're on WeChat!

Scan our QR Code at right or follow us at ThatsBeijing for events, guides, giveaways and much more!

7 Days in Beijing With

Weekly updates to your email inbox every Wednesday


Download previous issues

Never miss an issue of That's Beijing!

Visit the archives