China Announces Visa-Free Travel for These 6 Countries...

By Billy Jiang, November 24, 2023

0 0

Attention to those planning a trip to China in the near future! 

Today, the Chinese Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced a significant visa-related development that brings good news for travelers.


Announcement by China Consular Affairs on Sina Weibo. Screenshot by That's

On November 24, a spokesperson for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs revealed that – to facilitate high-quality development of services for international exchanges and uphold a high level of openness to the world – China has decided to experiment with unilaterally expanding the range of visa-free entry countries. 

This new policy applies to citizens holding ordinary passports from six countries:

  • France

  • Germany

  • Italy

  • Netherlands

  • Spain

  • Malaysia

Starting from December 1, 2023, until November 30, 2024, citizens of these countries holding ordinary passports will be able to enter China without obtaining a visa for purposes such as business, tourism, family visits, and transit for up to 15 days.

Additionally, several Malaysian media outlets have reported that starting from December, Chinese citizens traveling to Malaysia will enjoy a visa-free stay of 30 days. 

As of now, there is no official announcement from the Malaysian government, so confirmation regarding reciprocal measures and other details is awaited.

This major visa policy change is expected to boost tourism and business exchanges between China and the mentioned countries. 

How do you view this significant visa-free advantage? Do you plan to visit China more frequently due to this development? Share your thoughts with us. Stay tuned for more updates on China's latest news by following our WeChat official account, ThatsGBA.

[Cover image via Billy Jiang/That's]

more news

Travel Gossip: Shenzhen Launches Direct Flight to Mexico City

A significant milestone in air travel between China and Latin America.

Travel Gossip: Official! China Grants Georgia Visa-Free Travel

Georgia is the latest nation to reciprocate visa exemption agreements with China.

Travel Gossip: Inbound Travel Booking Surges by 130% for May Day

More coming to explore the charm of China!

Insider's Ultimate China Travel Guide 2024 (Guangzhou)

Everything you need to know is right HERE!

6 More European Countries Granted Visa-Free China Travel

Switzerland, Ireland, Hungary, Austria, Belgium & Luxembourg.

Travel Gossip: China Extends Visa-Free Travel to Georgia

Georgian PM announces China to introduce visa-free travel for Georgian citizens

0 User Comments

In Case You Missed It…

We're on WeChat!

Scan our QR Code at right or follow us at ThatsGBA for events, guides, giveaways and much more!

7 Days in Gba With

Weekly updates to your email inbox every Wednesday

Download previous issues

Never miss an issue of That's GBA!

Visit the archives